Navigate Up
Sign In

Warm welcome for new education minister

Holy Spirit Year 6 student leaders Ruby Cronk, Felix Jarvis and Saigon Ngo
and Principal Kim Davis welcome new State Education Minister
Grace Grace
to their school

HOLY Spirit School, New Farm, warmly welcomed a special guest to present Year 6 students with their leadership shirts.

Newly appointed State Minister for Education Grace Grace was on hand to present the excited students with the shirts during the school’s Leadership Induction Liturgy.

The Member for McConnel told the Year 6 students that Holy Spirit School was the first Catholic school she had visited in her new role.

Addressing the gathering, Ms Grace, talked about qualities of good leaders and focussed on topics including listening, kindness and caring for others. 

She challenged the Year 6 students to use these qualities as they took up their leadership role in 2018. 

Ms Grace said she was delighted to be at Holy Spirit School. 

She reminded parents, students and staff that the school held some special memories for her as her own daughter attended the school and received an excellent education.

Principal Kim Davis said it was wonderful to welcome back Ms Grace, not only as a former parent, but also as the newly appointed education minister.

She said the Year 6 students were extremely excited to receive their leadership shirts from the minister.

“All of the students in Year 6 are seen as leaders and form into four committees: Organisation; Community; Faith and Curriculum,” she said.

“They regularly meet in their ministry groups as well as participating in student forums and implementing their proposals into the life of the school.”

Following the liturgy, David McGovern and Jessica Laidler from Catholic Mission facilitated a number of leadership activities which allowed students to identify examples of good leadership and generate ideas for school improvement in 2018.

Brisbane Catholic Education Office

243 Gladstone Road, Dutton Park Q 4102

GPO Box 1201 Brisbane 4001 Australia

Phone: (07) 3033 7000

Fax: (07) 3844 5101