Navigate Up
Sign In

Thanks for the support minister

QCPPA secretary/treasurer John O'Connor (left) and President Paul Lesson with
State Education Minister Kate Jones

THE Queensland Catholic Primary Principals Association (QCPPA) has thanked State Minister for Education Kate Jones for her ongoing support for Catholic education.

It was the first time members of the QCPPA had met formally with any state education minister. 

The QCPPA, which began in 1977/1978, consists of dedicated Catholic primary school principals whose goals are to promote and develop the aims of Catholic education in all Queensland Dioceses - Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Brisbane and Toowoomba.

Each diocese has two delegates except for Brisbane, which has five, who represent their constituents.

A president, treasurer/secretary, and vice-president are elected every two years.

Current QCPPA President Paul Lesson, Principal at St Catherine’s School, Wishart, and secretary/treasurer John O'Connor, principal at Our Lady of the Sacred Heart School, Darra, thanked Ms Jones for her continued support of Catholic education throughout the state on behalf of members.

In particular, they thanked her for the financial support through the Block Grant Authority (BGA) and how much it was valued.

They also thanked Ms Jones for her support of Catholic Education Week and her visible support at the opening ceremony.

Other items that were discussed were the future of the Early Childhood Development Program and using the data from the Australian Early Development Census to assist with early intervention.

It led to a discussion on the starting age of school and looking for consistency with this date.

The meeting was an extremely positive one and it was hoped regular meetings between the education minister and the executive of the QCPPA continued into the future.

Brisbane Catholic Education Office

243 Gladstone Road, Dutton Park Q 4102

GPO Box 1201 Brisbane 4001 Australia

Phone: (07) 3033 7000

Fax: (07) 3844 5101