Navigate Up
Sign In

2012 Term date changes for Catholic schools

Term date changes will affect everybody
BRISBANE Catholic Education (BCE) has announced revised dates for school terms and student holidays in 2012, following the State Government’s announcement of changed holiday arrangements.

Executive Director of Catholic Education, David Hutton, said Catholic schools and state schools often used shared transport for students, so it was necessary for Catholic schools to follow generally the state system’s term arrangements.

In 2012, this means term dates for Catholic schools will be:

Term 1          Tuesday 24 January – Friday 30 March

Term 2          Monday 16 April – Friday 22 June

Term 3          Monday 9 July – Friday 21 September

Term 4          Monday 8 October – Friday 7 December

The Easter school holidays for students – at the end of Term 1 – will now run for two weeks (from Monday 2 April until Friday 13 April).

The mid-year holiday will be two weeks (from Monday 25 June to Friday 6 July).

The mid-semester break at the end of Term 3 will also be two weeks (from Monday 24 September to Friday 5 October).

Mr Hutton said staff in BCE schools would continue to have seven professional development days each year, but three of these would now be in the week following the Easter long weekend.

“This means that, in 2012, disruption is minimised because those three days were originally scheduled to be normal teaching days, so staff were going to be there anyway,” he said.

“For staff, the change involves a movement of some of their professional development days to another time of year,” he said.

“Schools will have some flexibility to reschedule these three flexible professional development days to other vacation or other out of school hours times as in the past.

“For students and parents, the change means an extra three days of holidays after Easter, but the pupil-free days at the start of Terms 2 and 3 will no longer exist.”

Mr Hutton said the Catholic sector had indicated it was generally happy with the state government’s plan to change the holiday breaks, but had advised that this should have taken effect from 2013, to minimise disruption for families who had already organised leave and booked holidays based on the published term dates for 2012.

“It’s disappointing that the government has decided to make the changes with immediate effect, without giving adequate notice to families,” he said.

Families whose 2012 holiday plans would now conflict with the new term dates should contact their school principal to discuss the matter.

Brisbane Catholic Education Office

243 Gladstone Road, Dutton Park Q 4102

GPO Box 1201 Brisbane 4001 Australia

Phone: (07) 3033 7000

Fax: (07) 3844 5101