2018 Excellence Awards

​The 2018 BCE Excellence Awards were held 7 August at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre. The Archbishop of Brisbane, Mark Coleridge joined with 395 BCE employees in celebrating the exemplary performance, and achievements of 129 nominees across BCE schools and offices.


The Australian Catholic University (ACU) Award for Excellence as an Early Career Teacher

Winner: Sam O’Leary – St Martin’s School Carina

Sam is an enthusiastic 21st Century educator, helping his students to develop their communication, collaboration, critical and creative thinking skills. Sam introduced Optiminds where the 2017 St Martins team were runners up at the national finals. 

Odette Pryer – St Columban’s College, Caboolture
Olivia Holmes –St Joseph’s Primary, Murgon

Simone Buckingham – St Columban’s College, Caboolture


The ACU Award for Excellence in Developing Others

Winner: Lee Menzel – Our Lady of the Way School, Petrie

Lee is highly successful in skillfully coaches individuals and perceives what they need drawn from deep, empathetic listening and incorporates her extensive knowledge of school and wider resources into her sessions with teachers, and encourages them to think broadly about the resources available.

Cassandra Eckert – Chisolm Catholic College, Cornubia
Jennifer Adams – Administrative Services, Dutton Park
Megan Pidskalny – St John Fisher College, Bracken Ridge
Suellen Cotter and Rachael Hill (a joint nomination) – All Saints Primary School Albany Creek 


The TUH Health Fund Award for Excellence in Supporting Learning and Teaching (Brisbane Catholic Education Office)

Winner: Marlon Riley – Ngutana-Lui Cultural Centre Inala 

Marlon has been a tutor at Ngutana-Lui for over 20 years, and his passion, dedication and commitment to "Reconciliation through Education" is as strong as it has ever been. He is a Cultural Tutor, but extends his knowledge, experience and time beyond this role. He works extensively with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, teaching art, dance and storytelling helps raise cultural awareness in BCE offices and schools.  

David Burns – Inclusive Education, School Services South, Springwood
Sue Martin – Organisational Development, Employee Services, West End 


The TUH Health Fund Award for Excellence in Supporting Learning and Teaching (Schools) 

Winner: Natalie Felschow – Mt Maria College, Petrie

Natalie goes above and beyond, often giving up her own time to help students, parents and staff. Disengaged, verified, less-able and challenging students alike respond positively to her welcoming and non-judgemental nature. She is an integral part of Mt Maria's recently established program 'The Good Man Project', a unit offered to particularly disengaged male students in Years 9 and 10.  

Simon Mikkelsen – St Teresa’s Catholic College, Noosaville
Tracey Smith – St John Fisher College, Bracken Ridge


The TUH Health Fund Award for Outstanding Contribution to Learning and Teaching (20+ Years) 

Winner: Deborah Holmes – Unity College, Caloundra West

Deborah demonstrates extraordinary skills as a teacher and educational leader, has an unyielding commitment to professional renewal. For more than 20 years, Deborah has mentored early career teachers to build their capacity, insight and skills, while simultaneously serving as a role model, sounding board and critical friend for more experienced staff.

Dympna Rigby – San Sisto College, Carina
Narelle Dobson – Mary MacKillop College, Nundah
Shona Press – Marymount College, Burleigh Waters  

Special recognition and recognition to Con Pizzol who passed away late last year. Con devoted 38 years of his life to Brisbane Catholic Education, 21 of which at St Augustine’s, Currumbin Waters, and made a significant different to the lives of many students, teachers and parents. 


The Teachers Mutual Bank Award for School Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Winner: Mary MacKillop College, Nundah

Mary MacKillop College continues to shine as a beacon of Catholic education with a reputation as a wonderful supporter to Excellent Learning and Teaching and Strong Catholic Identity. strongly evidenced through the enthusiastic leadership of Principal Christine Clark and the college Leadership Team.

The QIEC Super Award for Excellence in Learning and Teaching in Secondary School 

Winner: James Taylor – Mary MacKillop College, Nundah

James demonstrates a strong focus on excellent teaching and learning practices. He understands the centrality of great staff relationships to the realisation of great learning outcomes for students. James has worked in the development of the College SMART goals and staff professional learning, as well as welcoming staff into his classroom to model effective teaching practices.  

Gillian Meyers – Unity College, Caloundra West 


The QIEC Super Award for Excellence in Learning and Teaching in Primary School

Winner: Kim Harding – Our Lady of the Way School, Petrie

A dedicated Year 3 Teacher, Kim is held in extremely high esteem. She has created a classroom where all learners feel they can achieve success, and each student feels supported, inspired and encouraged. She places great emphasis on teacher clarity, by making the curriculum visible, explicit and responsive for all learners.  

Caitlin Warren – St Mary of the Cross Primary School, Windsor
Colleen Killin – St Joachim’s School, Holland Park
Shai McLady – St Peter’s School, Caboolture 


The Archbishop Coleridge Award for Leadership

Winner: Paul Drewniak Holy Cross School, Wooloowin

Students at the school are first and foremost in the work Paul does. He is collaborative and reflective, and a humble man who shies away from recognition.

Paul is a man of great integrity and is often described as an authentic Catholic leader who models Gospel values in his leadership. 


The ACU Award for Excellence in Religious Education or Building a Strong Catholic Identity 

Winner: Lindell Johnstone – Unity College, Caloundra

Lindell promotes a clear Catholic educational vision, ensuring best practices are incorporated into the experience of liturgy, spiritual practices and pastoral care. She is heavily involved in outreach and social justice initiatives, the Rainbows Grief and Loss program, Lenten programs, and proclaiming the Christian Identity of Unity College.

Jane Connolly – Office of the Executive Director, Dutton Park
Jon Sorohan – St Paul’s School, Woodridge
and Michael Boyle – Chisholm Catholic College, Cornubia