Excellence Awards

Brisbane Catholic Education annually acknowledges and celebrates the achievements, commitment and contributions of staff to teaching, challenging and transforming Catholic education in the Archdiocese of Brisbane.

The Awards acknowledge the talent and dedication within our community and recognises those who embody our values of excellence, integrity, justice and hope.

In 2018 the awards were expanded to include a broader range of categories that recognised the achievements of staff in both teaching and non-teaching roles across Brisbane Catholic Education. All full-time and part-time employees were eligible for nomination.

We acknowledge and congratulate our award winners in the following categories:

The Australian Catholic University (ACU) Award for Excellence as an Early Career Teacher

Sam O’Leary – St Martin’s School, Carina

Sam is an enthusiastic 21st century educator, helping his students to develop their communication, collaboration, critical and creative thinking skills to prepare them for the world they will encounter.

The ACU Award for Excellence in Religious Education or Building a Strong Catholic Identity

Lindell Johnstone – Unity College, Caloundra

Lindell promotes a clear Catholic educational vision, ensuring best practices are incorporated into teaching Religious Education and in the students’ experience of good liturgy, spiritual practices and pastoral care.

The ACU Award for Excellence in Developing Others

Lee Menzel – Our Lady of the Way School, Petrie

Lee is highly successful in helping teachers change their own practice and she consistently sees more in people than they see in themselves. Lee skilfully coaches individuals and perceives what they need, drawn from deep, empathetic listening.

The QIEC Super Award for Excellence in Learning and Teaching in Secondary School.

James Taylor – Mark MacKillop College, Nundah

James demonstrates a strong focus on excellent teaching and learning practices which align with both BCE and College priorities. He works to build leadership in his teaching team and works closely with them on improving their pedagogy and content knowledge.

The QIEC Super Award for Excellence in Learning and Teaching in Primary School.

Kim Harding – Our Lady of the Way School, Petrie

Kim has created a classroom where all learners feel they can achieve success, and each student feels supported, inspired and encouraged. She places great emphasis on teacher clarity, by making the curriculum visible, explicit and responsive for all learners.

The TUH Health Fund Award for Outstanding Contribution to Learning and Teaching (20+ years).

Deborah Holmes – Unity College, Caloundra West

Deborah demonstrates extraordinary skills as a teacher and educational leader, has an unyielding commitment to professional renewal and learning, and embodies a completely genuine capacity to connect with and to serve others. She excels in her commitment to meeting the learning needs of the students within her care.

The TUH Health Fund Award for Excellence in Supporting Learning and Teaching (Brisbane Catholic Education Officer).

Marlon Riley – Ngutana-Lui Cultural Centre Inala

Marlon is passionate about increasing the educational outcomes of all students by working with educators to improve their cultural awareness and knowledge. Marlon demonstrates commitment to Catholic values in his everyday interactions and believes that Aboriginal spirituality and Catholic identity are linked and enhance each other. Marlon is a positive role model not only for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young people, but for all the young people that he educates.

The TUH Health Fund Award for Excellence in Supporting Learning and Teaching (Schools).

Natalie Felschow – Mt Maria College, Petrie

Natalie has expertise in working with disengaged students, building the confidence and self-esteem of all students she works with. She is an integral part of Mt Maria's 'The Good Man Project', for disengaged male students in Years 9 and 10. Natalie has been acknowledged for going about her work with humility and a quiet confidence, and as a valuable member of the Mt Maria College community.

The Archbishop Coleridge Award for Leadership.

Paul Drewniak – Holy Cross School, Wooloowin

Paul has been the Principal at Holy Cross Catholic School, Wooloowin since 2010, and previously at St Brendan’s School, Moorooka, for eight years. Paul has been instrumental in developing a strong culture of learning at these schools and student progress is celebrated. Paul’s staff know of his strong support, great integrity and is described as an authentic Catholic leader who models Gospel values in his leadership.