BCE Recognised Religion Units

​​​​​BCE expects that appointees to senior leadership positions in schools will hold, or be working towards, postgraduate qualifications in religious education, theology or Christian Leadership with a minimum of 8 units.  For Principal positions, this qualification must be at a Masters level.  The following courses are all recognised by BCE as constituting religious study. Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and is provided by way of example only.


Location and Contact​​​

​No. of Units

Brisbane Catholic Education (BCE) Programs/Courses

BCE Assessed Courses​​

​Brisbane Catholic Education (BCE)

Graduate Certificate in Religious Education​

Australian Catholic University (ACU)

​4 Units

​Graduate Diploma (Religious Education)

​​Australian Catholic University (ACU) ​8 Units

Post Graduate Certificate in Religious Education

Australian Catholic University (ACU) ​8 Units

​Master of Educational Leadership - Enrolled prior to 2016

Australian Catholic University (ACU)

​8 Units
Master of Educational Leadership - Enrolled 2016 onwards
Australian Catholic University (ACU) ​8 Units

​Master of Religious Education

​​Australian Catholic University (ACU) ​8 Units

​Master of Theological Studies

​​Australian Catholic University (ACU) 8 Units​

​Master of Theology - Religious Education

Broken Bay Institute (BBI)

​8 Units

Graduate Certificate in Theology - Religious Education

Broken Bay Institute (BBI)​4 Units


For assessment of qualifications not listed above please contact Kerry Brand, HR Officer - Recruitment, Phone 07 3033 7640 or email: kbrand@bne.catholic.edu.au ​​