New Schools

​​​​​​​​​​Opening new schools in South East QLD

This year, Brisbane Catholic Education has opened​ two new schools adding to our network of 146 schools across South East Queensland.

A co-educational secondary college, Holy Spirit College in Fitzgibbon, was opened with three streams of Year 7, and a primary school, Star of the Sea in Merrimac, was opened with Prep to Year 3 students. 

Success in life is not only measured by how well we do for ourselves but, more importantly, how well we treat and care for others. This is at the heart of Catholic education. 

The identification and location of new schools and colleges are incorporated within a strategic planning program employed by Brisbane Catholic Education. This program draws upon local and state government policies and initiatives that impact population growth, settlement patterns, infrastructure, and land development across the archdiocese. The values of our schools draw upon the richness and wisdom of Catholic tra​dition. We welcome all who share or seek these same values for their children. 

Proposed schools are developed through a process of Church and government approvals.

Please contact Assets and Infrastructure at (07) 3033 7000 for further information regarding new schools.​

Expressions of interest:​

Express your interest for a proposed Catholic co-educational school located within the Aura master-planned community by Stockland. Aura is located at the heart of a region forecast for incredible growth, with significant investment in planning and infrastructure. ​

​Opening Year


​​​​School Name


​Type of school

​Opening with 


​To be determined

​Caloundra South, Sunshine Coast

​Notre Dame College

​Aura Master Planned Community

​Prep - Year 12

​Prep to Year 3, Year 7

​​Expressions of interest​

​Brisbane Catholic Education will be working with the Caloundra Catholic Parish on the establishment of this school. For more information about the new ways in which Caloundra Catholic Parish and BCE are seeking to work together, click the following link:

Schools opened this year:

Year SuburbSchool name
​Address Type of school Opened with Status
Fitzgibbon ​Holy Spirit College​441 Beams Road
SecondaryYear 7


  • Enrolments closed for 2022 - 2025
  • Enrolments for 2026 open in Term 3, 2022 with interviews to be held early 2023

Refer to current information published on the Holy Spirit College website

​​2022​Merrimac ​Star of the Sea School
​16 Ghilgai Road
Primary​​Prep to Year 3

Recently Opened Schools

​Year Suburb School name Type of school
​Sophia College
​​2021Yarrabilba​San Damiano College
​Redbank Plains
St Ann's School​Primary
​2019 Bli Bli Good Samaritan Catholic College Prep to Year 12
​2019 Coomera St Joseph's CollegePrep to Year 12
​2017 Beaudesert McAuley College Secondary
​2017 Yarrabilba St Clare’s Primary School Primary
​2013 Mango Hill St Benedict’s College Secondary
​2013 Springfield Lakes Good Shepherd Primary School Primary
​2011 Ormeau Mother Teresa Primary School Primary