Big win for Emmaus College riders at SEQ Championships


​Emmaus College's ​​​Overall SEQ Champion Primary School winning team

​EQUESTRIAN riders from Emmaus College, Jimboomba, have won the Overall SEQ Champion Primary School for the third time at the South East Queensland Championships at Caboolture.

The college is the only school to have won the prestigious award three times.

In challenging conditions for both riders and supporters, the 12-strong team of four primary riders and eight secondary riders performed exceptionally well also winning Champion Secondary Show-horse Team, Champion Primary Showjumping Team and Champion Primary Combined Training Team.

Emmaus College Equestrian co-ordinator Maria Gould said it was an amazing result for the school, with more big events coming for riders.

"This is one of the major competitions prior to the State Championships," Ms Gould said. 

"Both riders and parents had been preparing for this for weeks."

Over the three-day competition, which is attended by hundreds of students from across SEQ primary and secondary schools, including independent, Religious Institute and state schools, the Emmaus team competed in 38 dressage tests, 32 jump rounds and 12 show horse workouts.

In the saddle for a win
Ms Gould said it was a massive effort from all the team and they starred across the board.

She said all 12 riders showed persistence through the challenging weather, full days, and juggling draws with multiple rides as well as great care and support for each other and fabulous sportsmanship – true Emmaus Spirit.

“They represented the college exceptionally and were truly proud to riding under the Eagle flag and Emmaus colours," Ms Gould said.

“Emmaus College won three of the four team champion events but most significantly for the third time since the college has been competing in Interschool Equestrian events, we were awarded the Overall SEQ Champion Primary School.

“A remarkable achievement," she said.

The team also took a clean sweep in the show jumping team section, with students Lyla Simpson, Arianna Sing and Scarlett Landmann winning their divisions.

Top stories